Your new favourite band: Patrons (Plymouth, UK)

So, over the years I have met many many bands. Some of them are c**ts from the off, some of them seem genuine at first (whilst they are small and desperate for you to buy their merch, but then a few years later charge £50+ for VIP access and then only sign one record). Thankfully there are the others. This lot, are that other type; four truly genuine guys who deserve every drop of success that comes their way.

Rewind to May 2014 and I was at the Prince Albert in Brighton for a warm-up evening before the Great Escape festival – and all of a sudden this band that just sounded different to what I was listening to took to the stage. The noise that followed just blew me away, I looked at the stage expecting to see seasoned post hardcore veterans, perhaps having one more shot before disappearing into the ether. So imagine my surprise when they all looked half my age, they only had a handful of songs and a three track cassette for sale. So I gave them money for their cassette (knowing full well I had nothing to play it on) and got to chatting to them. One thing led to another and before you know it I’ve clocked up hundreds of miles to see them in a variety of places around the UK – and have loved every minute of it.

Fast forward three and a half years, and it is finally here……the debut album. Now, I will admit that I am probably quite biased but f**k me it is a corker and it looks as beautiful as it sounds. Now I don’t normally review albums, because the people who read this blog do so only to see the records and artwork – so all I will say is this:

  • Track 1: First of the Slow Burners. Lead single, and absolute banger. Video
  • Track 2: Shapes in Nature. Starts mellow, builds and becomes a banger.
  • Track 3: The Art of Conversation. See review for track 2, also amazing live. Video
  • Track 4: Eighty Four. Builds up, builds up some more and gets loud. Thought it was going to be called Simple Plan. It bangs!
  • Track 5: Everything Matters. Probably my favourite. Also a banger. Sounds nothing like Snow Patrol
  • Track 6: Listen. Wasn’t sure about it at first. On 10th listen, decided it is a banger.
  • Track 7: War & Pieces. Starts with a bang. Continues to bang. Banger!
  • Track 8. Army of One. Continues where War & Pieces ends. BANG
  • Track 9: Last of the Quick Thinkers. A real favourite when I see them live. Love it. Massive banger.
  • Track 10: Dawn. Boom, these boys (beys) know how to close out an album. I cried. This one is not a banger, it is just the perfect end to a truly blistering debut album. Btw, I’m lying, it is another banger.

See what I have done there. Not really a review is it, I’ve just used the word banger a lot. In short: All Killer. No Filler.

Now for the reason you are here. The pictures…..

Limited to 250 copies (well 247 if you remove the three copies I have), this first pressing is on clear vinyl with blue/ silver splatter available exclusively from Rose Coloured Records (link below) and Banquet Records. It comes with an inner sleeve and lyric sheet (and obligatory download code) and is seriously nice to look at (both the record and the artwork). 



Lyric Sheet:

Buy: Click here to satisfy your need for pretty records

And here are some words from bona-fide music press………and Kerrang!


Posted on April 20, 2017, in Vinyl and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s

%d bloggers like this: